Mid-Watch   1280x1024 1024X768 800X600

IUSSCAA Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: IUSS Memorabilia

Irv (Dee?)-

That is a great story! I've actually wondered how it worked for people who got advanced when the OT rating was created! To be the very first OT Chief is a pretty cool thing.

And a timely post as well, as the newest Chiefs got pinned today. Including my younger brother, Robert, who is now a Chief Hospital Corpsman!

I was a maintence instructor as an ET1 behind the "Green Doors". Made ETC and was initiated by Chiefs Tibble, Dannels, Kosowski and that was "fun". I hope Dannels
motor scooter never runs again. Then came the OT rating and the OPS crew put me thru A school so I could pass the OTC exam and I did. I really believe that if I had not passed the ETC exam I never would have been able to convert to OT. Best move I ever made.
Marshall

Marshall,
I say BZ to you for getting through your initiation with Jim Tribble (may he rest in peace). I do recall he did a little golfing while in Bermuda and after a few rounds he bent up his clubs and threw them out in his yard bag and ALL. He was quite the Master Chief from the OLD OLD Navy.
Chuck

Zeke,
Congratulations to the HMC, nice to see that he stuck it out. I hope he invited more guests to his pinning than you did!!

Zeb

Good post, Zeke! I have several boxes from various moves in my garage that haven't been unsealed in 20 years, and I know there are a few sets of ten-points. I also have the requisite collection of patches, UIMs, plaques, coffee cups and what not.

I also have every nametag from every command I was ever stationed at, starting with NAVFAC Bermuda. I always thought that saving those would serve some purpose, but for now they just sit in a drawer in my closet. I also have a few nametags of other people (Denise L'Allier-Pray, Chuck Bloemker). Not sure why I have those!?

And then there are the UNCLAS 8x10 photographs; to me those are the most valuable!