Ocean Night 1280x1024 1024X768 800X600
Mid-Watch   1280x1024 1024X768 800X600

IUSSCAA Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: SEA DUTY

RV Moana Wave for SURTASS engineering development, about 6 weeks. 13 years as a SOC TECH starting in 1987. Vindicator, Triumph, Assurance, Persistent, Prevail, Assertive, Bold, Effective and Loyal. Days underway: 1735. But there are folks out there who started when I did who are still sailing!

Hi Jane, I remember you.... One of the reasons i got out of the Navy, as at COMOPTEVFOR, I went to sea for almost 300 days. I loved it even though I was the Test Director for SURTASS. Later when I got involved with the An/SQQ-89 program, I went to sea for several stints. Yes lot's of moaning and groaning from sailors as I took an Ensigns state room :0 Even though the Admiral at COTF designated me as his test director..I was an INSURV inspector when I was serving at NAVSEACOMBATSYSENGSTA. I brought my sleeping bag, and slept on the floor behind the cabinets in sonar control. I learned so much at sea such as using a sextant, driving a ship(just ask Capt Ray Marquart USNS Stalwart:)etc. I did what I dreamed about but I think traitor named Walker really ruined the rate.

Sounds ike a great cruise George but unfortunately I wont be able to go as the better-half is still working. Introduce her to cruising last year and I feel like I unleashed a beast. She loves it. We were on another just two weeks ago.
I was on a LST my first hitch and joined it in that far east garden spot of Subic Bay. After glamorous ports of call like Hong Kong, Pusan and some ammo dumps along the Vietnam coast we made our way to Japan and then started on a Long Slow Trek via Hawaii to San Diego on a Large Slow Target. The past couple of years have been a lot nicer as the shipswere not painted haze gray.
Good luck on your trip and who know, we might cross paths sosme day/ FROG