IUSSCAA Wallpapers
Ocean Night 1280x1024 1024X768 800X600
Mid-Watch   1280x1024 1024X768 800X600

IUSSCAA Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Nearly there!

2013 is right around the corner, and on 1 Sep 2013 It'll have 20 years since I was transfered to the fleet reserve. Only need another year, 1 month and 11 days after that to have as much time retired from the Navy as I served on active duty.

Looking forward to it.

Re: Nearly there!

Greg -

I recall marking that milestone in retired years, as I did active(23 years in my case). That occurred 8 years ago in 2004. Will be retired 32 years in July of 2013. I certainly have got my money's worth in retired pay from Uncle Sam - and then some (actually, a great deal more than I ever thought I would).

One of my former shipmates (Bob Bristow)retired in 1993 and I recently got an e-mail from him, saying that he will probably go for his Social Security in 2013. I started drawing mine (at age 62)in 2001 - and drew more out than I paid in - - - in LESS THAN 3 YEARS!! Is Uncle Sam good - or what???

Maybe that's why he is going broke !

Cheers and good health to all in 2013...........Irv (Dee)

I remember shortly before I retired, the Navy was putting out an annual statement giving a number that they said would represent the value of your retirement package. I thikn as an E6 they were saying it was worth about 300K or so. I'd have been very happy if they'd offered it to me (tax free of course) in a lump sum. Still think it should be an option for retiring military.

I'd have happily waived my rights to commisary and exchange usage, and to access to the military medical system as well.

Perhaps some day in the future they'll adopt that kind of system.

Greg -