Ocean Night 1280x1024 1024X768 800X600
Mid-Watch   1280x1024 1024X768 800X600

IUSSCAA Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: What is next on your Bucket List ?

Ed: if you have not already done this you should visit the Fredericksburg area. There are for 4,battlefields: Fredericksburg, Chancellorville, The Wilderness, and Spotsylvania Courthouse. The first two were prior to Gettysburg and The Wilderness was where Grant and Lee first engaged each other. Spotsylvania Courthouse may not be as celebrated but lasted the longest and was kind of a draw but the South was not able to replenish men and arms lost as was the North. I worked as a docent for the Park Service at these venues. Jackson was wounded by his own men at Chancellorsville and lost his are which is buried near there off Rt 3.

Thanks Ed - I will do as you suggest. Take care old friend. Ed Smock

Pat and I have this saying that we can show you the best restaurant in Barcelona, where the drive-in movie resides in a volcano in Italy and what the views looks like from atop the Swiss Alps but the geography of the Western half of the good old USA befuddles the both of us.

My old buddy Jim Lapp used to sit around the campfire at Cheatham Annex and talk about the sights and scenes of the Northwest. Because he and Shirley had spent considerable time touring out west, he could talk about the geography in graphic detail. Those stories lit a fire.

A few years ago, Pat and I took a trip though some of the Southwest. During one leg of the trip, we spent a day in Tombstone, AZ. That was the most fun and entertaining day of the entire trip.

So, next on our bucket list is a tour of the Badlands of S. Dakota and Wyoming.

J & P