This active Medical Assistant Web Forum is maintained by Danni R., former Certified Medical Assistant, who has made her mark on the Internet by reaching thousands of medical assistant students, graduates and experienced medical assistants coast to coast through her well known websites and web forums dedicated to ALL medical assistants in the USA and abroad. Many medical assistant students and professionals have come and gone, leaving posts about their dreams, concerns and aspirations. Many reached out whenever possible to lend a helping hand to their peers in the true spirit of this profession! Thank you to all who have supported and contributed to this very active Medical Assistant Web Forum.

Return to Website

Medical Assistant Web Forum

Our Motto: "If Medical Assistants post it - Medical Assistants will reply!"

Medical Assistant Web Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
MA's and Flexibility

Hello,
I'm a pre-nursing student and I'm thinking about going to MA school. Since I will be applying to Nursing school next month I want to be able to work as an MA during nursing school (that's if i get accepted).I'm just wondering about the flexibility of an MA, such as part-time, per diem, or night shift. Is it worth it? The program is about $400. Or should I just go to CNA school...I know there is some flexibilty there..?

Re: MA's and Flexibility

I forgot to mention that this is in Los Angeles county

At the school I went to, you must have CNA experience to get into the nursing program.

Your Professional Title/Credentials: MA

Are You Still In School? sorta

Are You Working? not yet

Jefff is right. If you are going to nursing school get your CNA. It's best to have that experience!

Your Professional Title/Credentials: Certified Clinical Medical Assistant

Are You Still In School? Working towards BSN in nursing-graduate dec. 08

Are You Working? ER 5 years