This active Medical Assistant Web Forum is maintained by Danni R., former Certified Medical Assistant, who has made her mark on the Internet by reaching thousands of medical assistant students, graduates and experienced medical assistants coast to coast through her well known websites and web forums dedicated to ALL medical assistants in the USA and abroad. Many medical assistant students and professionals have come and gone, leaving posts about their dreams, concerns and aspirations. Many reached out whenever possible to lend a helping hand to their peers in the true spirit of this profession! Thank you to all who have supported and contributed to this very active Medical Assistant Web Forum.

Return to Website

Medical Assistant Web Forum

Our Motto: "If Medical Assistants post it - Medical Assistants will reply!"

Medical Assistant Web Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
stuff

Hi all just a few questions. I worked as a vet tech for 6 years, have a CNA licence and worked as unit clerk for 4 years. I moved from NY to va and after 7 months of looking for a job 42 apps later im going back to school. Did I mention I was 36 geesh! anyway. I have alot of medical exp. and hoping to test out of some classes. I will have an associates when im done. ok so heres the big ??? How close is a CMA to an LPN. as a CMA do you get to do alot of clinical {nurseing stuff) how much more schooling would I need to do to get my RN??? thanks sherri in VA

Your Professional Title/Credentials: CNA, Unit clerk

Are You Working? attending miller motte for CMA

Re: stuff

check out this web site on scope of practice.

http://www.medicalassistant.net/can_and_cannot_do.htm

You might match that up with an LPN scope to see the differences, although with your experience I bet you have a pretty good idea.

good luck

Your Professional Title/Credentials: CMA (AAMA)

Are You Still In School? no

Are You Working? yes