This active Medical Assistant Web Forum is maintained by Danni R., former Certified Medical Assistant, who has made her mark on the Internet by reaching thousands of medical assistant students, graduates and experienced medical assistants coast to coast through her well known websites and web forums dedicated to ALL medical assistants in the USA and abroad. Many medical assistant students and professionals have come and gone, leaving posts about their dreams, concerns and aspirations. Many reached out whenever possible to lend a helping hand to their peers in the true spirit of this profession! Thank you to all who have supported and contributed to this very active Medical Assistant Web Forum.

Return to Website

Medical Assistant Web Forum

Our Motto: "If Medical Assistants post it - Medical Assistants will reply!"

Medical Assistant Web Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
my degree is pretty much worthless

Hello, I just graduated from Draughon's Junior College with an A.S. in Medical Assistant. I live in NW Tennessee, Obion Co. The problem is that in this area I can't find one doctor's office or anywhere else for that matter that is even familiar with what a medical assistant is. I have been asked by teachers, hiring manager's, doctor's, and even the career center here; just what does a medical assistant do? I am about ready to give up. How can a person find employment if they have to explain their position to professionals in the same field they are in? Need advice, please!!!!! I don't know what to do.

Your Professional Title/Credentials: medical assistant

Are You Still In School? no

Are You Working? no

Re: my degree is pretty much worthless

how did you do your intership in your area if none of the medical professionals know what M.A.'s are?