This active Medical Assistant Web Forum is maintained by Danni R., former Certified Medical Assistant, who has made her mark on the Internet by reaching thousands of medical assistant students, graduates and experienced medical assistants coast to coast through her well known websites and web forums dedicated to ALL medical assistants in the USA and abroad. Many medical assistant students and professionals have come and gone, leaving posts about their dreams, concerns and aspirations. Many reached out whenever possible to lend a helping hand to their peers in the true spirit of this profession! Thank you to all who have supported and contributed to this very active Medical Assistant Web Forum.

Return to Website

Medical Assistant Web Forum

Our Motto: "If Medical Assistants post it - Medical Assistants will reply!"

Medical Assistant Web Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
I lost my back office position . . .

I'm feeling humiliated, hopeless, and just down right sad.

I graduated as an MA last April and I hadn't been able to find a job as an MA until the middle of December. I was really happy and excited when I got the job. I worked really hard. I was rooming patients, taking vitals, sending out referrals, giving injections - the basic clinical work. I also helped out my fellow MAs when I had a chance.

I thought I was doing well. I knew my skills had dulled since school and I wasn't the best, but I thought I was doing okay.

Turns out I wasn't and I got switched to scheduling because it was either that or they would let me go. The office manager said she felt my skills weren't up to what the office needed and they were looking for someone "a little faster".

I'm glad they switched me instead of just letting me go with no job, but I just found out this morning and I'm shocked. I had no idea. I can only guess that I just wasn't fast or skilled enough.