This active Medical Assistant Web Forum is maintained by Danni R., former Certified Medical Assistant, who has made her mark on the Internet by reaching thousands of medical assistant students, graduates and experienced medical assistants coast to coast through her well known websites and web forums dedicated to ALL medical assistants in the USA and abroad. Many medical assistant students and professionals have come and gone, leaving posts about their dreams, concerns and aspirations. Many reached out whenever possible to lend a helping hand to their peers in the true spirit of this profession! Thank you to all who have supported and contributed to this very active Medical Assistant Web Forum.

Return to Website

Medical Assistant Web Forum

Our Motto: "If Medical Assistants post it - Medical Assistants will reply!"

Medical Assistant Web Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Help!

I work with a dr.(female) I'm a nurse, she hired me as her assistant (family practice) I do vitals, draw blood, adm. medications, type letters , I even write and called for the prescriptions. I am also biligual. She even want me to vacuum , clean the bathroom, take the garbage out and bring the heavy stuff she gets in her car to the office,(I am a woman too)all for $10.00/hr. I think she is using me. I've been here for 4 months with no pay increase and she said she can't afford a cleaning guy. I live in Florida, What should I do, wait to get more experience or leave? Help,please. Thanks

Re: Help!

Not to say that you should become someone's "girl friday" ever, but if you can bear it a little longer, start looking for a better job while you are there (while you grin and bear it). As soon as you find a postition in another practice, clinic, or hostpital It's time to say sarinara, ciao, a bientot, see ya, etc.. But be professional about it. The latter was an exaggeration. A proper resignation letter is good policy. You might have do depend on her for your recommentadion.