This active Medical Assistant Web Forum is maintained by Danni R., former Certified Medical Assistant, who has made her mark on the Internet by reaching thousands of medical assistant students, graduates and experienced medical assistants coast to coast through her well known websites and web forums dedicated to ALL medical assistants in the USA and abroad. Many medical assistant students and professionals have come and gone, leaving posts about their dreams, concerns and aspirations. Many reached out whenever possible to lend a helping hand to their peers in the true spirit of this profession! Thank you to all who have supported and contributed to this very active Medical Assistant Web Forum.

Return to Website

Medical Assistant Web Forum

Our Motto: "If Medical Assistants post it - Medical Assistants will reply!"

Medical Assistant Web Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
discouraged and mad

I am a student at Medical Careers Institute i richmond, virginia. I will be graduating in October as a Medical Assistant , and i will have an associates degree in applied sciences. Today i met a lady at a medical staffing agency ans she told me that a medical assistant is nothing but a CNA. She said that they lie to us and make us think will be MA's but we will only be CNA's and wiping peoples butts. SHe made me so mad. There is nothing wrong with CNA work, but thats not what i have been in school for this long. She went on and on and said that her friend went to school to be an MA and works at nursing home as a CNA. Can someone please tell me that she is lying.

Your Professional Title/Credentials: MA

Are You Still In School? yes

Are You Working? not yet

Re: discouraged and mad

Congrats on your degree! A lot of hard work and you should be very proud.