This active Medical Assistant Web Forum is maintained by Danni R., former Certified Medical Assistant, who has made her mark on the Internet by reaching thousands of medical assistant students, graduates and experienced medical assistants coast to coast through her well known websites and web forums dedicated to ALL medical assistants in the USA and abroad. Many medical assistant students and professionals have come and gone, leaving posts about their dreams, concerns and aspirations. Many reached out whenever possible to lend a helping hand to their peers in the true spirit of this profession! Thank you to all who have supported and contributed to this very active Medical Assistant Web Forum.

Return to Website

Medical Assistant Web Forum

Our Motto: "If Medical Assistants post it - Medical Assistants will reply!"

Medical Assistant Web Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
New to Site

Hello, everyone!

I am a newbie who has a passion for medicine/healthcare and feel very strongly that pursuing a career as a medical assistant is really what I want to do.

I am presently trying to become enrolled in a private college in a nearby metropolitan city, and the cost of the course (2-yr. Associate Degree) is $189 a credit hour, totaling 96 credit hours. I am hoping, because of our present unemployment situation, that I'll qualify for financial aid (total financial aid in the respect that it'll be paid for). However, if I don't qualify for the Pell grants, etc., then I am open to pursuing a community college that is half the cost.

The main feature of the private college is that they offer one course at a time, while the other [local] colleges do not offer this. They tout 75% or better job placement services, as well.

Most people that I've talked to believe that I'll receive a "better" education by going to a private college versus a community college. However, a former RN who is now teaching students to become RNs believes otherwise.