This active Medical Assistant Web Forum is maintained by Danni R., former Certified Medical Assistant, who has made her mark on the Internet by reaching thousands of medical assistant students, graduates and experienced medical assistants coast to coast through her well known websites and web forums dedicated to ALL medical assistants in the USA and abroad. Many medical assistant students and professionals have come and gone, leaving posts about their dreams, concerns and aspirations. Many reached out whenever possible to lend a helping hand to their peers in the true spirit of this profession! Thank you to all who have supported and contributed to this very active Medical Assistant Web Forum.

Return to Website

Medical Assistant Web Forum

Our Motto: "If Medical Assistants post it - Medical Assistants will reply!"

Medical Assistant Web Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Calling all LVN's and Medical Assistant

Hello, Im a college student studying medical billing and coding and decided that its not for me. I figured I take some medical assistant classes and go from there as getting my associate degree since its only a two year course. I posted a topic above on this forum "Medical Assistant program". Well I live in CA and I plan on moving to either Florida or to the islands. ( Puerto Rico, US virgin Islands, Bahamas)... I havent decided yet.

I have done some research for MA in the virgin islands and they start off making $10 an hr. Now in Florida, MA salary pay is atleast $11-15 an hr. Not bad, but im not really satisfied. My mother who is a RN told me that becoming a MA w/ or w/o a degree, is a waste of time b/c I can make $10hr w/o a degree right now by doing internships. She believes most MA jobs are hand on training and is a waste of school time and money. This goes back to MA making little to no money topics....

So I took my final step in wanting to become a LVN. In Florida, they make $20-25 an hr. and in US Virgin Islands they make $13-15 an hr.