This active Medical Assistant Web Forum is maintained by Danni R., former Certified Medical Assistant, who has made her mark on the Internet by reaching thousands of medical assistant students, graduates and experienced medical assistants coast to coast through her well known websites and web forums dedicated to ALL medical assistants in the USA and abroad. Many medical assistant students and professionals have come and gone, leaving posts about their dreams, concerns and aspirations. Many reached out whenever possible to lend a helping hand to their peers in the true spirit of this profession! Thank you to all who have supported and contributed to this very active Medical Assistant Web Forum.

Return to Website

Medical Assistant Web Forum

Our Motto: "If Medical Assistants post it - Medical Assistants will reply!"

Medical Assistant Web Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Will it be worth it?

I have been doing medical transcription for the past 5 years. I am planning to go to school in September to become a medical assistant. I might be able to replace some of my credits (the MT and Keyboarding) with something else and was thinking about going ahead and getting the phlebotomy degree/certificate. I'm thinking if I do that it might raise my pay scale because I will have the MT, MA, and phlebotomy. I also would like to take a Spanish course online, but I will probably wait until I'm done with school to do that. Will all of this raise my pay scale, or will it be just a big waste of my time and energy. Should I just go for the MA? The course does have phlebotomy in it but not to the full extent of taking the phlebotomy course.

Please note that I am not expecting to make much. I think around here the pay for a MA is between $11-$14 or $15/hour. I'm happy with that, but would like to make the most I can make.

What do you think? Will I be putting too much on myself for nothing?

Are You Working? Work as an MT at home

Re: Will it be worth it?