This active Medical Assistant Web Forum is maintained by Danni R., former Certified Medical Assistant, who has made her mark on the Internet by reaching thousands of medical assistant students, graduates and experienced medical assistants coast to coast through her well known websites and web forums dedicated to ALL medical assistants in the USA and abroad. Many medical assistant students and professionals have come and gone, leaving posts about their dreams, concerns and aspirations. Many reached out whenever possible to lend a helping hand to their peers in the true spirit of this profession! Thank you to all who have supported and contributed to this very active Medical Assistant Web Forum.

Return to Website

Medical Assistant Web Forum

Our Motto: "If Medical Assistants post it - Medical Assistants will reply!"

Medical Assistant Web Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
CMA vs. LPN

How funny!! I have been deciding between CMA, LPN, RN for the past 2 years and been driving everyone around me nuts! Finally I couldn't take it anymore and typed in CMA vs. LPN in Google and found this forum...GREAT! Now maybe you's can help me. I am 32 years old, stay at home mom of 2 kids. I want to go back to school for RN but everyone tells me how hard and demanding it is. However the pay is great for 2 years of school (my community college offers the 2 year assocaites program) pluse the schedule is great (i could work 2 12 hour shifts and be done ) if i was a nurse. Or should I do the CMA because it is a tad bit easier and not so much pressure. OR should I do LPN because it is only 1 year and i also have the choice to go back for the 2nd year and become an RN. If i go for CMA and decide to go for RN then i have to go to school all over again (doesn't make sense), with LPN i have the option to go 1 year more when it is convenient and get my RN license. I live in Chicago and CMA's don't get paid well (9-12.00 per hour).
Thanks.

Are You Still In School? no