Return to Website

Maroon Wave Assembly Hall

Maroon Wave Assembly Hall - (refresh page to remove popup ads)
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
old stories from dances and sock hops

HI
My dad Russ Cooke was the DJ that did all the sock hop dances and had a morning show in the late 50's early 60's in Welch. I am putting together a book and need as many old stories, memories and any other comments from those who remember him as possible, it is very important and would mean a lot to me if you could email me any stories or memories you have of dad. Thank you in advance for your time and memories.

Re: old stories from dances and sock hops

Saturday morning Sock Hops at the Pocahontas Theater were a highlight of the week. I hope that you will post some your responses. I am sure that there will be many. db

thanks I will share all and any of the stories and memories I get as I said this is for a book for my dad I have been scanning pictures for about 2 months now, any I can get my hands on and grab from my moms old stash, have some good ones from when me and my sister was little and a few from the radio days. I have an old reel to reel I want to try and get converted to a CD to go with the book but its so fragile I am afraid they will mess it up. and its not like it can be replaced.

Some where on this site is something about the Saturday sock hop.

Links to Russ Cook/WHS stories

Try this link

.....or type the link into the browser address bar yourself:

http://search.atomz.com/search/?sp-q=Russ%2BCook&sp-a=00052686-sp00000006

Re: Links to Russ Cook/WHS stories

thanks