The Lt. Columbo Forum

An area where fans from all over can ask each other questions and voice their own ideas and opinions on anything Columbo.

This Forum is fondly dedicated in memory of  "cassavetes45"  (Carleen Zink),
Columbo's greatest fan and a great friend to us all.
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
The Lt. Columbo Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: The Most Dangerous Match

If it's any consolation I did not like this episode either. Went to slow. Boring. Didn't understand the last final clue. So I'll pass on this one

Steve
If it's any consolation I did not like this episode either. Went to slow. Boring. Didn't understand the last final clue. So I'll pass on this one
I'll try and explain the final clue since it's in the ballpark of what I do for a living. The way the grinder worked and why it shut off when Dudek fell in is a safety feature. They don't show it, but inside the control panel is what is called a Programmable Logic Controller (PLC). This PLC is controlling a bunch of different modules (inputs and outputs) which are wired to different devices. Some of these devices are limit switches. Some of these limit switches are right under the gate/door that opens when something is put into the grinder. If the grinder is off, they can put whatever they want in there and then start it up to grind. If the grinder is on and something gets put into it, the limit switches will send a signal back to the PLC and the PLC will send a signal to the emergency stop and the grinder will shut down. This is a safety feature to keep someone from falling in and getting killed. When Dudek was pushed in, the grinder was on and it shut off. Clayton, being a deaf man, did not hear it shut off and didn't realize that Dudek didn't die. Dudek, however, was lucky that someone didn't come along and turn the grinder back on without checking why it stopped in the first place. This is still a weak ending because anybody that has ever been around industrial equipment like a gr