The Lt. Columbo Forum

An area where fans from all over can ask each other questions and voice their own ideas and opinions on anything Columbo.

This Forum is fondly dedicated in memory of  "cassavetes45"  (Carleen Zink),
Columbo's greatest fan and a great friend to us all.
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
The Lt. Columbo Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Which episode would be the best for 13-year-olds who've never seen Columbo before?

Hello everyone,

Though I haven't visited the forum for ages, I've carried on having my dose of Columbo regularly. And now I find I'd like to ask your help, to see whether we can attract some neophytes.

I'm an English teacher and, for the first time, some of my students have shown interest in the guy that is shown in my computer desktop wallpaper. So we've agreed that in a couple of weeks, after the first term exams are over, we'll watch a Columbo episode.

These are 13-year-old kids who aren't generally interested in anything older than themselves (in fact, today we were discussing a 2014 film which they derisively described as "prehistoric"). I have warned them that the Columbo episode we'll watch may or may not have been filmed before I was born, and though I've seem some of them wince, they still say they want to watch it. I've reminded them that last year we watched a Charlie Chaplin film ("City Lights"), and in spite of their moans on learning it was in black and white and silent, they ended up enjoying it a lot, so this cannot be worse. I think they're willing to trust my word, and I wouldn't like to disappoint them.

Although I've been working with students between the ages of 12 and 17 for years now, I cannot say I know their tastes well yet. So I'd like to ask you which episode(s) you would recommend. Maybe some of you have or have had children of this age and know what they may like.